How Do You “Get Fed”?

Jesus:

“My nourishment comes from doing the will of God, who sent me, and from finishing his work.”

Our bodies are designed for nourishment by consumption. Our spirits are different. Many of us make the mistake of projecting the dynamics of physical nourishment to our spiritual lives. The result is spiritual famine.

Jesus explained to his disciples that his spiritual food consisted of listening to God and obeying his direction. If God told Jesus to encourage someone and Jesus obeyed, Jesus’s spirit was nourished. If God directed Jesus to heal someone and Jesus followed God’s lead, Jesus’s spirit was nourished. If God directed Jesus to be silent and Jesus obeyed, nourishment.

If God directs me to go to church on a Sunday morning and listen to a sermon, and I sincerely obey, my spirit will be nourished by God’s leading and my obedience. If I go to church week after week hoping that listening to sermon after sermon will perpetually nourish me, I will be disappointed and I will starve.

