Who is your reward? [God Talk]

"After this, the word of the LORD came to Abram in a vision:
'Do not be afraid, Abram.
I am your shield,
your very great reward.'"

Abraham was promised countless descendants and choice land, but neither of these blessings ever really measured up to the blessing that is God. Even when Abraham's servant pitted one blessing (descendants) against the other blessing (land), Abraham held on tight to the hope that God would deliver them both.

The thing is, I don't think Abraham was even focused on the blessings. I think he's credited with great faith exactly because he didn't need the blessings. They were sprinkles on the icing and cake that was God with him.

In the midst all the straining and striving to be better, I need to remember that I already have the highest reward I'll ever taste, and I didn't have to do a thing for to earn Him except submit.
Tagged